T.O.P. Reviews: Aegis-AQXDM (Bedouin)

How can we not be dazzled by the last bedouin EP? Our Bristolian influences passionately embrace  the freshly released  Aegis EP, by AQXDM. A complete, genuine record full of dusky broken beats and mellifluous atmosphere.  Breakbeat, techno-bass and  post rave rhythms at their best all under the special Bedouin stamp. Clarity in the sound and 90s influences, dancing along immaculate frenzied baselines. We dare to say that this is possibly a timeless record.

The stops of the journey are:

A1 Aegis

A2 Ballad

B Roam

T.O.P. Reviews: Gohan- Mount Athos EP-(Peur Bleue)

Listening to Mount Athos EP yesterday at Idle Hands record store in Bristol it was a jolly moment. Tales of Psychofonia has another sweet encounter with Peur Bleue record label (see interview). Gohan, London based artist,  orchestrates a magnificent pompous EP with four retro-like trance-inducing techno tunes stroked by  ambient tides. Old-school synths like rain drops blended with gentle baselines. Hazy beats and cinematographic bells drawing an unforgettable lyrical path with unknown destination. Music difficult to label and that is the beauty of this album. T.O.P. pick for connoisseurs, only.

The album has been released on Peur Bleue in September,2017.

The stops of the journey are:

A1 – CrackOpolis
A2 – Mount Athos
B1 – Danse Toujours
B2 – Promenade avec L (feat. Spleenboy)

T.O.P. special: Sven Grünberg

Today’s post is dedicated to the psychedelic synths and meditative melodies created by the progressive, ambient, new age, musician Sven Grünberg. His music is made for elevating states leading the listener to a transcending consciousness. Sven Grünberg is also the  chairman of the Board of the Estonian Institute of Buddhism and he is undoubtedly, one of the few of his kind.

dead mountaineers hotel

Poster of the movie:Dead Mountaineer’s Hotel, 1979

Continue reading

T.O.P. reviews: Overlook- All of them witches, UVB-76 008

Deep subterranean drum & bass for collectors is presented by Overlook’s EP All of them Witches, which  is an quintessential gem for a real rave. Needless to say that, Jason Luxton is a polymorphic artist with numerous releases on labels such as Samurai Music, Horizons Music and Alignment Records. This album is his latest work released on UVB-76. UK misty beats with a daring  outline. A T.O.P. pick and an ideal late hours record to throw down. It is definitely Magick!

The EP contains the below tracks:

A1 – Spirits Moving Through The Walls
A2 – Magick
A3 – Ritual ft. Mono
AA1 – All Of Them Witches
AA2 – Travelling Without Moving (Positive Centre Remix)


T.O.P. reviews: //Forthcoming//EOMAC – Reconnect [ETXLP001]


Eomac is coming back with a brand new album. Ian Mc Donnell appears to be  an endless source of creativity and inspiration. This time he releases on his own label Eotrax the album Reconnect. Each track is  a statement against the fast impersonal rhythms we pray for and  against the consumerism which governs us. Each track is a spiritual  exorcism of the subordination of our own intuition to the materialistic world we live in.  It is a desperate  cry for help, a prayer for  our salvation. The regression to our roots and the cathartic  ecstasy, deriving from this voodoo-like dance, will bring us closer to our lost human senses and insight. The sound is deep and  primitive flowing from  our collective subconscious, embraced by heavy beats, dressed up with animistic melodies. Eomac’s forthcoming release is the internal scream of our  nature:  RECONNECT with our own real self.

Release date: April 27th, 2018

The album contains the below tracks:

A1 Lower Your Gaze
A2 Ready To Die
A3 Language Has Failed Us
A4 Fall, Rise
A5 Other People’s Fears
A6 Resist All Dogma

B1 Cry Of The Planet
B2 Denounce Everything
B3 Transmutation, Redemption, Forgiveness
B4 Being, Not Object
B5 Earth And Sky